Bitzero worth it or not

I just want to ask the question. Is the bitzero worth it or should i just keep self zeroing?

It’s a convenience feature, rather than unlocking new capabilities like a BitSetter.

I’m relatively new to CNC, so I like it. It provides consistency. That said, most of my work doesn’t need accurate X-Y zeroing, so I mostly use it for Z.

If you’re not unhappy with your current method, then the BitZero may leave you underwhelmed, in the “Not much different from the way I used to do it” sense. If you find the current method fiddley, then the BitZero may give a more consistent approach that you like.

So, really we can’t tell you if it’s worth it, it depends on what you would value from it.

4 Likes

Im looking to save time and be more consistent. So it sound like it may be beneficial

2 Likes

Bit Setter is a must :slight_smile: it saves lots of time.
Bit Zero. I have a V2 and some times I use it but I have more faith in setting it up myself as I see it while the Bit Zero is “I hope it got it right”
Once the Z ended up below the deck, I have no idea how that can happen. but after that I went back to seeing is believing :slight_smile: The manual method just seems to make me feel better :slight_smile:
When I do use the Bit Zero I worry too much and go back and double check, So to me it seems to take longer.

I guess it is just what works for you :slight_smile:

For Me, the X and Y are normally not critical, so eyeballing those works for me. The Z on the other hand needs to be near perfect. If you have a 3D printer then you know how to use a piece of paper to get the nozzle clearance. I do something similar on my CNC. I have boxes of business cards left over. I lower the bit down while wiggling the business card around, when it just starts to pinch it I stop. I know the thickness of the card, so I just type that number into Z Zero as the offset. Perfect and I didn’t rub the bit on my project or waste board :slight_smile: