Brand new to cnc and looking to buy

Hello all.

I am brand new to cnc. I want to become a hobbyist in the winter months as I do not work during the winter and need something to occupy my time. Over the last week or two, I have been researching a lot. I am torn between the Shapeoko xxl or the x carve.

Now this is not meant to be a versus post as I have searched both site forums and read a lot. I am leaning towards the SO3, which is why I am simply posting here to ask a couple of questions regarding more of the cnc as a whole than machine specific.

I guess my main question is how do you guys hold projects in place with the SO3 right out of the box. I see the x carve comes with a complete clamp kit. Again, I am absolutely brand new to this and I may ask some dumb questions. I apologize in advance.

First off, if considering the Shapeoko vs. X-Carve please see:

The workholding is something of a chicken–egg issue.

Options are:

I’ve documented bootstrapping workholding w/ just the machine and minimal tools twice now:

and

and we have some tutorials on this at:

https://docs.carbide3d.com/tutorials/project-wasteboard/

and

If you have any difficulties with this (or any other file or project), please contact us at support@carbide3d.com or post here and we’ll do our best to work through this with you.

3 Likes

Hi Chris,

In addition to Will’s answer there is also a section on workholding in the Shapeoko ebook, which should give you an overview of typical workholding options.

One thing that is not immediately obvious, is that top clamping options tend to get in the way of the cutting, while side clamping provides clearance of the whole top surface of the material. See those C3D side clamps for example

2 Likes

Thank you for the quick reply. I have visited and read the article linked on more than one occasion. I like it.