Carbide Create improvements

Hi all - I got my Shapeoko some months ago and having the time of my life.

I’m running a small manufacturing of kits (see below) and one of the items is an intricate bamboo-plywood box created entirely on the Shapeoko, and being assembled with no glue or nails. Came out a beauty!

My task now is to get into manufacturing mode, and that’s where I am seeing some simple improvements that Carbide Create (and Motion) could use to make the software more production oriented. Mostly small items…

I have been a software developer for >25 years specializing in graphic automation, so this is perfectly aligned with what I do well.

I listed some bugs and requests below, feel free to comment. I also would be happy to join any beta program to help test.

Some of the bugs I found have to do with selecting objects, which is super important. Selecting the incorrect object before creating a toolpath could mean a ruined workpiece.

See below:

Bugs:

1. When trying to add to a selection with the shift key, if I shift-click and miss the object, everything gets deselected. The selection should remain the same.
  2. Drag-select encompasses more than needed. Objects that are not inside the marquee selection are all included in the selection
  3. Small objects can be literally impossible to select
  4. Indication of objects hovered over should be more pronounced. Right now the line becomes a tiny bit darker but the difference is almost impossible to see.
  5. Import SVG comes in at 75% of size it is in Illustrator
  6. When importing SVG and then trying to move the objects imported, other objects sometimes get ‘selected’ by error and move as well.
  7. Top buttons operation: If user is in Toolpath-mode, then click settings, click Ok to exit settings, the screen goes to Design mode instead of going back to toolpath mode.
  8. Toolpath mode disregards grouped objects when selecting

Easy changes:

1. Shortcuts for group, ungroup: (Command-G, Shift-Command-G)