Cleaning up the wiki on climb vs. conventional milling

I’m just getting into aluminum and find the wiki… challenging. There are little tidbits of info scattered about in various sections, including some that seem to conflict. Climb vs. conventional is one of them.

I will happily volunteer to try and clean this up if we can resolve the information. Examples:

Aluminum: finishing passes:

…using a climb cut for finishing passes produces a nice finish in aluminium (citing this comment)

Under endmill considerations, we have this… do Shapeoko users own such an “extraordinarily rigid machine” and what is “an extraordinarily rigid bit”?

Doing the finishing pass as a climb cut will give a better finish on an extraordinarily rigid machine and bit.

The section on boring holes (which doesn’t say what material):

Secondly using conventional milling produced the best results. Some with climb milling was [sic] ok as well, but the general result was that anything concerning climb milling (be it complete single cut operations or used as finis passes) gave a little worse result.

The recommendation for 6082 aluminum specifies climb, most don’t say one way or another:

3 flute, 45deg flute, carbide, 4mm diameter … 21k RPM, dry, climb cutting … Spiral downcut along a 1mm radius, .4mm per revolution (leading to a 6mm hole) … feedrate of 500mm/min with a forward step of 0.5mm (12% tool engagement)"

The dedicated wiki page for this is super confusing. We have:

Unless your machine is very rigid… you should always do conventional cutting.

This is immediately followed by:

Another recommendation is to climb mill for roughing passes and conventional mill for finishing passes.