Guitar build; first ever. Learn with me

I’ve never done a build thread before but there’s a first time for everything. I’m just beginning this journey, it’s going to take a while.

I’m no musician, didn’t know squat about guitars prior to starting this project. Just something I’ve always thought would be interesting to do. Plus, my granddaughter asked me to.

To start, I watched this video https://youtu.be/shxir1Z4Bw8. Jumped into Fusion 360 and came up with a viable design for a practice build after 5 tries.

Then I added Audiohotshot’s fret generator add-in to F360 and completed my first “Trace” toolpath to cut the frets in my first practice part, the fretboard. Here it is 90% complete.

Now I need to learn why the fret depths are not consistent. Stay tuned.

10 Likes

Is there a radius on the fretboard that could be causing the inconsistency?

1 Like

The fretboard is radiused along the centerline however, that shouldn’t affect the fret depth at either end.
What did affect it was a slight bow in the stock caused by being lazy and only securing the ends. :rage: So the fret slots in the middle were deepest.
Next try will be basswood secured with tape and CA.

1 Like

2nd attempt looking better, fret slots nice and crisp!

.024 mill from Drillman. https://www.ebay.com/itm/10-73-0240-2-FLUTE-MICRO-CARBIDE-ENDMILLS-LONG-FLUTE/151823964316?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

5 Likes

A bit of touch up with 220 grit and we may have a usable fretboard.

First attempt, Baltic birch above. 2nd test piece basswood.

Test cut a neck next.

There’s a neck hidden in this scrap soft maple glue-up I think. We’ll see soon.

10 Likes

Exciting stuff today, first neck cut.

Material is soft maple. 10mm doc, 2mm axial, 2000mm/min cut rate, 24000rpm.

Some nice guitar-heavy blues for my listening pleasure. I think this project my actually incentivize me to learn to play :blush: