Interested in making name necklace

I tried to search there’s like only one post is a Nomad 3 and name necklace…

I already own a CNC a Shapeoko 3 XXL a Fiber Laser and three 3-D printers…so I have some experience.

But I see name necklaces, in colors like rose gold, gold but I’m not sure what they’re making them out of like what type of metal… maybe stainless steel? colored brass I’m not sure?

Is nomad 3 capable of cutting stainless steel for name necklaces or even truss rod covers on a guitar like a fiber laser can do?

I ordered a nomad 3 yesterday but now I’m questioning it of course so be kind… everybody’s been out of them except one place and I got the last one… apparently till the end of September…

Material list doesn’t list anything other than aluminum and sterling silver…

For steel see:

and

for steel and other materials see:

All the parts you describe have been cut on Nomads, so please don’t fret on that account.

There was a bit of discussion on this specific topic at:

(but unfortunately no images of finished work)

Here was one design done in brass:

and another:

If you have an example in mind I’d be willing to try it out. I’ve got a pretty well stocked tool and material library so a quick test shouldn’t be an issue.

As for the materials that a lot of those super cheap tags are made out of, I’d guess they’re just laser etched and then plated.

1 Like

This is what I am thinking of Simple Sterling Silver Necklace Ideas on a CNC - #MaterialMonday - YouTube

1 Like