Is a Shapeoko Right For Me?

Hi All,
I’m completely new to the world of CNC machines, i’ve been doing tons of research and while i think i have a pretty good understanding of the basics, i don’t have any actual real world experience. On to my question: I have a small business making custom gifts out of sheet metal, things like key chains, necklace pendants, dog tags etc. Up till now, i’ve been using a combination of a benchtop shear, disc cutters and corner rounders to make my products. This has been fine for small orders, but i’m starting to sell pieces in much higher numbers and having a way to mass produce pieces would be a life saver. I was originally looking at the nomad but i don’t think that gives me a large enough working area to produce pieces in the numbers i would like. I’m now looking at both models of the Shapeoko and i’m a little unsure of what would be the best fit for me. Cost isn’t really a issue, i just don’t want to pay for more machine then i need as all the pieces i intend to make are pretty basic 2d shapes. Any guidance anyone can offer would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

1 Like

What metals are you using in your products?

1 Like

Material, part size, and needed production time/material removal rates are the big concerns.

Paying for more machine will get you larger working area/faster material removal rates, a less-expensive machine will just need to run a bit longer to make the same parts.

1 Like

I can’t speak on steel but I know those items made with aluminum would be very doable - cutting and engraving.

Depending on your background, the learning curve may be less steep

I would recommend looking at a used SO3 (at least XL) with at least a Z-plus z-axis carriage. Get your feet wet with a lower cost of entry and if it doesn’t work out you can just flip it.