Need Run-out and Accuracy ImprovementTips

So, my first post as I am new to the CNC/CAD world. I bought my Shapeoko XXL back in April and have been busy trying to learn my way around learning drawing software and running the machine to produce, mainly, guitar parts and pieces (would be happy to hear from other Luthiers using the products). I’ve made probably 25-30 guitars over the past 5-7 years (using templates and basic woodworking power tools, etc.) and thought that CNC would provide me with a way to streamline and standardize certain aspects of the process and, at the same time, improve the accuracy and detail of some work (particularly things like hole placement for bridges, inlay, and other precision operations). For the most part, I have been quite satisfied and feel the machine is living up to what I want it to do, and the biggest challenge has been learning a drawing software (I’m using Inkscape) that provides the accuracy needed for design and eventual milling.

The problem I am encountering is with, what I perceive to be, run-out. Last night, I was machining some inlay with some fairly small mills (1/16 and 1/32) and was having some trouble gaining tight tolerances. What I noticed was quite a bit of “wobble” in the end of the mills when placed alongside a fixed edge. I was not able to measure it, but it appears to be at least the diameter of the 1/32 mill. There does not appear to be much movement in the spindle itself, and I was using an insert in the standard 1/4 collet that came with the now standard issue Carbide 3d router spindle in order to reduce down to the 1/8" shaft of the mills. So here are my questions:

• Would I benefit from some “upgraded” collets? I note that actual 1/8 collets are available rather than using an insert.

• If upgrades are recommended, can someone suggest a brand. What specific type of collet fits the standard-issue Carbide 3D (are they interchangeable with, say, and Dewalt or Makita)?