New Nomad 3 GRBL Error: Homing Failed, couldn't find limit switch unable to initialize machine

Hi All, I just received my Nomad 3 and followed the tutorial, removed it from the box, cut the zip ties, plugged it all in, downloaded and installed the software. Opened up CM and tried to initialize the machine and I get the “GRBL Error: Homing Failed, couldn’t find limit switch.” So I have a brand new nomad and haven’t seen it move yet. It tries to move when I push the initialize button. It vibrates and makes an angry burrrrrr sound for a few seconds then I get the error. I put a piece of metal near the x, y, z axis and they all turn on the LED on contact so I’m assuming all the limit switches work. Maybe I’m doing something wrong? This is my first time with this machine…I’ve emailed support and tried calling support but so far no response (emailed wednesday night so maybe I’m just being impatient) but I thought I’d post here to see if anyone can help while I’m waiting for support to get back to me. I was just so excited to start and now I have the machine and can’t do anything with it.

Thanks all!
video of nomad trying to initialize

Did you attach anything to your base plate?
I used my threaded table screws for the mdf wasteboard on accident yesterday…
And the screws were so long it stopped my base plate from moving.
The length of screw was too long and hit the floor.

Check back in if this doesnt help

1 Like

I didn’t attach anything yet. I was just trying to get the machine to home but it won’t move in any direction…But I’ll remember that for the future when I can get this to make some moves.

1 Like

Next make sure you aren’t accidentally engaging your limit switches.
Turn the machine off and physically push x and y axis to center.
Put the z wherever.
Then power on.

I added a short video link in my original post to show what the initial error looked like.