Shapeoko vs. Aluminum round 2, why don't HSM best practices work?

I’m far from an expert with my 6 months of experience running a CNC, but from everything I’ve read, the best practice for high speed machining (HSM) is to use very high DOC with a shallow WOC. The theory is that you want to maximize how much of your cutter you are using to share the wear across the whole tool if possible. However, from all my testing, I’ve found these tool paths to have very poor results. I get much better cuts with large WOC and shallow DOC and I can achieve a higher material removal rate.

Here is an example from highest MRR tool path:

And here is my attempt to replicate it with a traditional HSM tool path (note the overall MMR is still lower for this tool path):

I’m starting to wonder if the reason for my struggles with high DOC, low WOC tool paths is related to something wrong with my machine or if other have experienced the same.Ideally I’d use these tool paths because I agree that spreading the wear across the whole tool is a good idea, I’m just not sure how to achieve it.

Possible root causes:

• This type of tool path results in higher machine forces which the Shapeoko can’t handle (I think this is the least likely, I’ve seen MPCNCs running these kinds of tool paths successfully)
  • Single flute cutters are not good for this kind of tool path. Now that I have an air blast/mister setup I plan to test 2 and 3 flute end mills
  • My machine has a mechanical issue (loose axis, bad v-wheels, etc)
  • My spindle runout is too high. I’ve seen people report a wide range of runouts on the Makita RC701. I’ve checked inside router (on the tapered surface) and it’s under 0.001" (as good as I can measure, don’t have a 10ths indicator), but with both the original collet as well as a precision Elaire collet, I get ~0.002 about in inch down the cutter. I’ve seen various reports that this is normal and alternatively that it is completely unacceptable, not sure who to believe.

3 Likes