Software Lapse--Lose files?

I let my Carbide Create Pro lapse because I wasn’t using it. I would like to sign up for it again, but want to make sure I’ll be able to get all of my old files and work back onto this new registration. I have the files backed up.

Files aren’t locked, but they do depend on version — if you were previously using v7 or earlier, note that as the announcement notes:

https://carbide3d.com/blog/create-v8

Files from prior versions will not load 3D components in V8. There were too many changes to the internal format for the new capabilities of 3D, and there was no good way to map existing 3D components into V8.

See:

If you were previously using v6:

Create V6 files do not load into V8

See:

This sounds very bad. I’m not sure what version I had but I was using it and making my files in 2024. Are you saying that I will not be able to access these files? I had A LOT of them that I spent months working on!

These were not 3D files, though.

Before I purchase, I would like to know if I can recall my files that are saved. I feel there must be a way. I did not have any 3d files saved.

Your best bet is to either:

  • Connect with Support directly, tell them your concerns, and provide a few files to make sure they open in CC Pro
    OR
  • Get the Trial version of CC Pro, and see if everything works.

Since you say you do NOT have 3D files, I expect that everything will work with only minor problems.

If your files were made using V 7 of CC, then they will open in V8.
If your files were made with V6 (or earlier) CC, then you must load and SAVE them in V7, then that file will load in V8.

The files can still be accessed, worst-case, you just need to open them in an older version, resave, then open in the newer.

This topic was automatically closed after 30 days. New replies are no longer allowed.