Speeds, feeds and settings

Hello! I’m completely new to the CNC world and have been doing a bit of looking around for help understanding depth per pass, plunge rate, feed rate and router RPM. I really hate posting questions if I can find the answers…But I’ve honestly looked and found a few different posts, but I’m still confused.
I’m hoping someone can take a minute to help me out. I have the Shapeoko 4 XXL with the Carbide router.

I’m cutting out a piece from 3/4 plywood. I’ve currently been using the #102 endmill. I was using the default settings, but it was taking hours to cut out multiple pieces. I need to speed this up a lot. After reading a couple of posts, I’ve changed to from the default settings to the following. Can someone tell me if my new settings are good, bad, if I can change them to run even more faster/efficiently or if they aren’t in the ballpark at all.

Default:

Depth .05
Plunge Rate 8
Feed 20
RPM 10,000

Proposed Changes:

Depth .05
Plunge 16
Feed 52
RPM 18,000

Thanks in advance for the help!!!

Rob

See:

for one discussion of this and consider:

1 Like

If your using Carbide Motion, the feed rate can be changed manually in 10% increments while a program is running.

3 Likes

Thanks for that info Will…That’s a lot of reading and math. Going from mm to inch throws me off a little from time to time…So based on the info that you provided, am I on the right track to think that I can use the following to cut out an object from 3/4" plywood using the #102 endmill:

Depth of Pass : .045
Plunge 24
Feed 90
RPM 24,000

This will provide a chipload of .04868mm (.00191) which falls within the .001-.0025 …Am I correct? Can I run with those settings without jacking crap up?

I opened CC and created a pocket tool path with a #201. I picked the Carbide3d Hardwood tool set for the #201 and I am getting very different F&S.

So what tool set are you picking or are you manually picking your F&S.