Suggestion for best Vbit

I am still coming to grips with myS3 and have the 301& 302 vbits but no others vbits yet.

I plan to engrave a Chinese dragon in to the top of a small jewellery box. The box is made of pine and has been painted white.The box lid is only 2 mm thick but I will add a 5 mm insert inside to give me more meat for the Vcarve. My initial setup actually cut thru the lid in the simulation.

I have set up a trial cut using both of these to look at the simulations and gauge the level of detail each provide but think I probably need a 30 degree bit to see what gives the best result. The image I will be converting and cutting is attached.

I would like some suggestions on what bits would be recommended by some of those more experienced in this type of project.

As this is my first try at this sort of project I fully expect to break at least one bit and will buy 2 or 3 so I really donā€™t want to shell out for an Amana or Whiteside yetā€¦Iā€™ll probably get something from Drillman or similar.
DFragon

1 Like

Hi @Gerryattrick,

The first thing Iā€™ll say, which is not going to be helpful Iā€™m afraid, is that pine is unfortunately not the best for intricate v-carving (YMMVā€¦), it doesnā€™t hold detail as well as other tighter-grain woods.

That said, since this is what you are dealing with, and your dragon is probably going to be small (jewellry box sizedā€¦) with lots of details I would do two things:

• use a 30deg vbit or even a lower angle, as you said. I used a 25Ā° single flute vbit for this samuraĆÆ and absolutely fell in love with that tool. It was not even particularly expensive (but I sourced it locally in France so it wonā€™t help you). It looks sharp because it is (very much so)

• use Advanced V-carve to set a depth limit of your choosing, probably 1.5mm to 2mm in your case? since that dragon has a mix of very narrow features and wider areas (e.g. the legs), depth-limited v-carving is a must I think.