Thinking about getting a Pro XL what other kit do I need?

New to the forum here. I got roped into teaching several classes over the summer that I don’t normally do, and I am thinking I want to spend my windfall before it gets used on necessities :slight_smile:
I am a reasonably advanced intermediate woodworker, and was the machine shop TA in graduate school for a year or two (no CNC all manual). I don’t intend for this to be a business, just something to amuse myself and make a few things.

I am considering a Shapeoko Pro XL (XL due to limited space in my garage shop)
What other bits and bobs should I go ahead and order at the get go?
My initial thoughts are:
Endmill Starter Pack
Carbide compact router
BitZero V2
BitRunner V2
Get a grip work holding kit

My random list of potential projects include: signs, plaques (maybe with a relief carving), storage boxes (some of the apparatus for labs I teach aren’t well stored), tool storage (hangers etc), maybe Kaizen foam etc.

I am trying to watch the Carbide3d tutorial videos to get a sense. Any other suggestion learning paths?

Thanks

John

Sounds like a plan!

The XL is a good fit if you work w/ boards — the XXL is more for sheet goods.

Big thing not in your post is software and CAD/vector drawing skills — hopefully the videos will get you a sense of all that.

Probably you have a lot of scraps, so my suggestion would be planning out some projects to match and looking over

Note that we have a standing offer — if you get stuck on a file or project let us know at support@carbide3d.com and we’ll do our best to walk through it w/ you.

1 Like

Non-carbide things to think about:

• Dust collection
  • Good lighting over the working area
  • A place to put the XL, large enough as well for the computer you will use to drive it
  • A computer to drive it.
  • Compressed air is very useful
2 Likes