Why is higher rpm better?

I’m kinda new to this whole machining thing, so I hope you can correct my dumb assumptions.

Why is higher rpm better? I’ve been doing a lot of research on speeds and feeds for aluminum on a Shapeoko and something odd I’ve found is that people run their spindles at really high speeds for rather large tools.
For example, @Vince.Fab says that he runs his spindle at 20-24k rpm. However, from a bunch of articles I’ve read, it seems that sfm is directly proportional to rpm and diameter. Some sources say that if your rpm is above the rated sfm of a material, you could generate excess heat and wear down your tool quickly. According to surfaceFeetPerMinute = rpm * cutterDiameter * pi/12, if you were to run a 0.25 in diameter endmill at 20k rpm, the surface speed would be around 1300 sfm. That is around 4 times the rated surface speed of 6061 T6 aluminum, 330 sfm (!?!). I’m confused. What am I missing here?

Thanks,
Eric

Edit: Grammar

forces will be lower (keeping all else the same) if you go to higher RPM

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply!
Oh, that makes a lot of sense. Still though, that’s really fast compared to the rated surface speed. Wouldn’t the heat buildup be quite large? How do you deal with that, if its a problem? How is tool wear not an issue? Also I’ve done other research that says that smaller chips are harder for the cutter to cut, since they require the tool to be sharper, and when a cutter is dull and pushed to cut smaller chips it’ll start to rub instead of cut. Wouldn’t this also cause weird forces?.

You have to remember that the router bit is not stationary like a drill bit. You are moving those sfm’s along the toolpath.

2 Likes

Wouldn’t considering the feed rate only increase the surface speed? And since the edge of the router bit is probably moving way much faster than the feed rate, wouldn’t the feed rate be much smaller in comparison?