About Adding Spektra mills to tool database

I bought a small set of Amana Spektra mills and have made an attempt at adding them to the tool database. I should say that I am brand new to CNC and got a Shapeoko XL… I’ve been lurking here and have learned several things already.

Here is a sample of one of the bits and what I entered (I see you have to click on the first one in order to see all of it):

It seems that CC doesn’t allow me to specify some key values like flute length and number of flutes. Am I missing something?

Also, I am including snaps of each of the mills I added. Would any of you be willing to glance at them and see if I’ve done anything egregiously wrong? I have read some materials online, and I think I’m interpreting things close to right…

Note that the data provided assumes 1 X Diameter depth per pass.

-e
New Amana Mills.pdf (2.6 MB)

You can edit the underlying CSV to add flute length and number of flutes, just do About Carbide Create | Open Data Directory and edit the CSV files you’ll find in the tools sub-directory.

Note that tapered endmills aren’t supported — they can be entered as ball-nosed endmills, but the program won’t adjust geometry to prevent vertical or surfaces which are more vertical than the angle of the taper from being cut at the taper angle. Depending on part geometry this may or may not be an issue.

1 Like

Thank you, I was looking for a way to edit the data directly! That will help.

I did a final finish cut yesterday with this tapered mill and it worked for what I was doing. I do hear what you’re saying, though.

-e

1 Like

Ok, thanks to @WillAdams I edited the CSV for the mills I added. Most of the columns made sense, some I guessed at. I believe things are good enough to not be afraid to try them out.

If anyone is looking for something to do, I am including my mills’ specs and my CSV if you would like to opine on my interpretation…

-e
Amana Mills to CCPro.zip (1.0 MB)

4 Likes

Hi @EdBaize,