New to Aluminum -- But breaking some end mills

I just started playing with cutting aluminum. I was trying to create a type of coin. I experimented with a couple of different types. And realized quickly that most text engraved required a small endmill. I have a 1/32 and decided to try that. I went with the default parameters for aluminum in CC. The bit broke before I could tell what was happening… Obviously too aggressive for my cheep Chinese endmill. I halved the rates and the bit lasted .5 seconds.

Any suggestions on some rational numbers to try? It is a 2 flute endmill I can go find the specs, but they didn’t provide a lot of data.

I should mention that the 1/16th endmill cut just fine and I even had some of the dreaded narrow and deep channels cutting out on of the coins. There are other issues, but I was happy with that result as a starting point.

When you say “rates”, what parameters did you change. There are 4 parameters to consider:
Spindle Speed, Feedrate, DOC (Depth of Cut), WOC (Width of Cut / Stepover)

The default parameters for the #122 tool in CC are very conservative. If anything the feedrate could be slowed down to about 9ipm. But, if the tool is fully engaged, slotting, you may need to reduce the DOC as well.

1 Like

Since I found tapered end mills, I stay away from conventional tiny cutters. Much much stronger.

EDIT (ADD) Remember aluminum becomes very sticky when hot (think peanut butter) some WD-40 will help it from sticking to the cutter, which primarily is the reason why they break (clogged flutes).

4 Likes

There is a simplified ‘speeds and feeds’ spreadsheet somewhere here in the forum, which I have used for setting tool parameters in Fusion360 with good success. I have gone with the general hobby-grade machine advice of WOC circa 50% of tool dia and DOC about 5% and no breakages so far. In this I keep the feed rate up to reduce heat from rubbing, which otherwise exacerbates the sticking issue.