Smooth transition

Can anyone tell/show me if it’s possible to cut this transition smoothly into my stock piece. I want it as close to the finished shape as possible.

What CadCam program are you using?

I’m using carbide create pro

If you are leveraging 3d finish operation you should pick a smaller stepover value. I usually use .2mm on parts I’m trying to get smoother finishing on.

You would need to model this shape, either directly in Carbide Create Pro, or in a 3rd party program — have you considered 3D CAD such as Alibre Atom3D?

It should be workable to do it in Carbide Create Pro — model the arrow pass/cutout first, then restore the shelf/handle, then model that shape.

Alternately, see the technique at:

which is sort of workable, but requires a great deal of patience.

If you get stuck trying to do this, post the file and we’ll do our best to walk through it w/ you.

Unfortunately I’m new at this so everything you just said went right over the top of my head. I just got the CC pro and am struggling with it pretty bad right now. It’s actually consumed my whole week and I’m no further along then when I started. I’ve watched every tutorial several times over, but the guys making the tutorials know what they are doing and blast right through them. Not explaining why they are doing what they are doing, it’s kinda like “give a person a fish and feed them for a day, teach them to fish and feed them for life”.
I’m pretty decent with carbide create, but the pro seems to work from the bottom up, not the top down.

The picture I showed was done on carbide create, I ordered the pro so I could get a better finish. I tried a smaller step over on the CC but didn’t make a difference. I think my cut paths are too far apart maybe.

Please post the file (or mail it in to projects@carbide3d.com ) and we’ll do our best to assist.

Thank you! I appreciate the help. I’ll try to post as soon as I figure out how to do it.