Buying a CNC for the First Time

Is someone able to give me some logical advice relating to buying a Shapeoko 5 Pro compared to say a Onefinity Elite?
I am a newbie to the CNC world and due to budget, I have to buy the most I can that will last a few years. I am starting a new business. I do love the idea of making 3D designs but I really want a machine that can really do the job and keep going while I start my home business. Eventually I want to make enough so my husband can quit his job. He works way to hard for his age and he already has to have his 2nd knee replaced as a result. I would appreciate any info and deals I can get, taxes are coming back and we will need to be frugal as the cost just live is so incredibly high now. He works at Walmart and he was getting about $5 more an hour than new hirers but with the new startup pay increase, he is getting close to the same as they are and he’s been with the company nearly 20yrs. They aren’t raising any of the seasoned employees hourly wage so they can offer more to those just starting. Very sad.

3 Likes

I’m pretty sure everyone here will advocate for the Shapeoko 5 Pro — I work for the company (off-site/remote tech support), so not unbiased, but here are some things to consider:

• we write all of our own software above the firmware level, and fund Grbl development, so there’s no finger-pointing if there’s an issue — we own it, and will work with you to solve it
  • we stand behind our machines: Carbide 3D Machine Warranty and have an initial 30-day warranty which no one else offers to my knowledge: For 30 Days, Mistakes are on Us
  • The Shapeoko 5 Pro includes one-on-one training — 4 30-minute sessions
  • we have a standing offer: If you get stuck on a file or project you can write in to us at projects@carbide3d.com and we will walk through the project with you or find a relevant tutorial

Also see:

and:

and the various other videos at: Carbide 3D - YouTube